top of page

HOW TO GET A REAL ESTATE
LICENSE IN TEXAS

STEP ONE: Enroll in a Real Estate Classes

 

In the State of Texas, you will be required to take mandatory real estate classes in order to obtain your real estate license as regulated by the Texas Real Estate Commission. (Referred to as TREC throughout this guide).

As of 2023, per TREC, the core courses required are as follows:

  • Principles of Real Estate I (30 classroom hours)

  • Principles of Real Estate II (30 classroom hours)

  • Law of Agency (30 classroom hours)

  • Law of Contracts (30 classroom hours)

  • Promulgated Contract Forms (30 classroom hours)

  • Real Estate Finance (30 classroom hours)

Typically, every two years you'll need 18 hours. Be sure to check the TREC website for acceptable courses. There are a lot of websites offering real estate courses but, only those approved by TREC will be accepted.

The initial education is just the beginning. You will also have continuing education requirements following licensing to ensure you stay up to date on the ever changing real estate world.

TIP: Don't waste time or money, verify the school you are considering is accepted by TREC. 

STEP TWO: Submit Your Application and Pay Your Fee

The fee you paid for the classes does not cover your real estate license application through the Texas Real Estate Commission.

Once you have completed your core educational requirements, the school will send your certificates to TREC (in most cases).

You will then submit an “Application for Inactive Salesperson License” to the Texas Real Estate Commission (TREC) along with the appropriate fee.

A new license is around $185.00* (this amount can change as regulations change) and renewal fees are approximately $90.00.

There is also an additional $38.25* for the background check that requires fingerprinting, see Step 3. There is also a $10 Real Estate Recovery Fee due with initial application.

The entire licensing process, following completion of your courses, completely depends on how busy TREC is but shouldn’t take more than a couple of weeks.

*Confirm the fees with TREC as they change often.

STEP THREE: Complete Fingerprinting Requirements

Texas now requires all real estate agents have their fingerprints on file, in accordance with the Real Estate License Act, so you will be responsible for getting your background check completed prior to your license being issued.

Contact TREC for a FastPass to schedule your appointment.

STEP FOUR: Take Exam

Once you have completed the educational requirements, filed your application with TREC and obtained your background check; it is time to take the Exam.

While you are preparing for the exam your application is being processed. Background checks are done, previous education is verified and TREC will verify if you owe student loans or are in default of such loans. This could hurt your chances of getting your application approved so be sure you are on top of your student loans and especially your taxes.

 

Study for the exam and then schedule a date to take it.

STEP FIVE: Find a Broker

Once you have completed your courses, submitted your fingerprints, and passed the exam, it is time to find an active Broker to "hang" your license.

Every agent must be sponsored by a Broker. Essentially, a Broker is the last step to activating your license so that you can officially begin working as a real estate agent in the State of Texas.

Finding a Broker isn't too difficult. Conduct an online search and schedule interviews with these Brokers. Ask questions to determine the best one for you. And keep in mind, YOU are interviewing THEM. Not the other way around.

Side Note: Once you have completed all educational and background requirements, and you are sponsored, you are then able to conduct real estate transactions anywhere in the state.

dots blue_edited.jpg

ONCE YOU HAVE YOUR LICENSE,

CHECK OUT THESE AGENT RESOURCES!

bottom of page